Second-Year Plan

Welcome to the Second-Year Experience! Whether this is your second year at Appalachian or you are a new transfer student bringing at least 30 hours of credit to Appalachian with you, if you have earned 30-59 hours of credit, this website can help you navigate the key opportunities and choices you will encounter this year. Here, you can learn about opportunities and resources to help you make these choices.

This year, it is essential that you make the most of your opportunities and focus on more than just earning good grades. By being fully engaged in your education and taking advantage of the opportunities Appalachian has to offer, you can prepare yourself to compete successfully for top spots in a few years when you graduate. Isn't it too early to think about graduating? No! We want you to fully enjoy and get the most from your time at Appalachian. To ensure this, you certainly don't want to delay until your junior of senior years. By beginning now, you can develop a strong, well-rounded portfolio of experiences that will allow you to stand out among great students from all across the nation.

What You Need to Do

1. Select and declare your major with confidence.

As you enter into your second year, you need to select and declare a major and choose classes smartly in order to "finish in four." Your major should represent what you most want to study/learn and what prepares you most completely for life after college. You should love your major. In order for this to happen, you must be engaged in exploring majors and careers. If you are engaged in the process, you will be prepared to select your major with confidence.

Undergraduate Majors at App State:                         http://www.appstate.edu/academics/majors.php.

Careers related to the majors App State offers:      http://careerexploration.appstate.edu/choosing-a-major

How to declare (or change) your major:                   http://advising.appstate.edu/current-students/declare-your-major

 

2. Meet with your academic advisor.

Though it is not universally required for second year students or transfer students beyond the first semester at Appalachian, effective advising is essential to a rewarding and enriching academic career.

http://advising.appstate.edu/

Most students begin their careers at Appalachian as students in the Academic Advising and Orientation Center (AAOC). In the AAOC, you will have a professional advisor to help you launch your college career, confirm or explore major and career options, and, generally, make the most of your educational experiences here at Appalachian. Your advisor can be your #1 resource.

Once you have declared a major, a faculty member in your chosen department will serve as your primary advisor. Get to know that person and give her or him the opportunity to get to know you so that a healthy and rewarding mentoring bond can be created. Academic advisors are a rich source of information and can broaden and enrich your educational experience. 


3. Get to know and follow the timeline for years two, three, and four.

4. Remember that advisors can help you…

Choose interesting courses as you fulfill general education requirements.

The General Education Curriculum & Requirements       http://generaleducation.appstate.edu/student-resources

University Studies Course on Digital Literacy (US 3530) http://lap.appstate.edu/elective-course-offerings

Expand your knowledge of yourself and your skills relevant to the global economy and community.

Career Development Center                                       http://careers.appstate.edu/

Career Exploration Office/Peer Career                         http://careerexploration.appstate.edu/

Career Gear                                                             http://careergear.appstate.edu/

Career Center on Twitter                                           https://twitter.com/AppCareerCenter

Learn more about internships.                                          internships.appstate.edu
Explore how to afford college, find a job during college, and understand your finances.

Financial Aid                                                            financialaid.appstate.edu

Student Employment (find jobs on or off campus)      studentemployment.appstate.edu

Financial Health for College Students ??? http://www.everydayhealth.com/college-health/financial-health-how-to.aspx (ßtemporary; App State does not have its own webpage on this—do we??)

App Card   http://appcard.appstate.edu/appcard-online

Get assistance in achieving academic success.

Academic Strategy Instruction                         http://lap.appstate.edu/academic-strategy-instruction             

Learning Assistance Program                           http://lap.appstate.edu/

The Writing Center                                          www.writingcenter.appstate.edu

Research assistance through the library            http://www.library.appstate.edu/gethelp/rap

Library Video Tutorials                                    http://library.appstate.edu/gethelp/tutorials

Aportfolio Tutorials                                         http://aportfolio.appstate.edu

Facebook page with tips:                                https://www.facebook.com/learningskillsservices

Live in the place that’s right for you.

Residential Learning Communities                   http://housing.appstate.edu/rlc

Student-Initiated Residential Learning Community (SI-RLC) http://housing.appstate.edu/pagesmith/98

On Campus Housing                                      http://housing.appstate.edu/

Off Campus Housing                                      https://offcampus.appstate.edu/pagesmith/83

Frequently asked Housing Questions               http://housing.appstate.edu/pagesmith/6

Stay active, alert, and well, and seek support when you need it.

Wellness and Prevention Services                  http://wellness.appstate.edu/

Health Services                                            http://healthservices.appstate.edu

The Counseling Center                                  http://counseling.appstate.edu

Student Health and Safety Resources            http://appcares.appstate.edu

University Police Educational Programs          http://police.appstate.edu/educational-programs

Free fitness classes and centers                    http://urec.appstate.edu

Indoor swimming pool   http://aquatics.appstate.edu

Outdoor Programs: Hikes, trips, and certification opportunities  http://op.appstate.edu

Intramural sports                                        http://imsports.appstate.edu

Club sports                                                 http://clubsports.appstate.edu

ASU-R “wrap-around” services to improve focus and follow-through http://collegestar.appstate.edu/u-r

Free weekly yoga and meditation for stress reduction   http://yesplus.appstate.edu

Connect with others and make an impact in clubs and organizations.

The Department of Student Engagement and Leadership  http://engageandlead.appstate.edu/

Campus Activities                                      http://campusactivities.appstate.edu/club-directory  

Gain knowledge and experience beyond words and numbers with arts and culture.

General Calendar of Events                        http://events.appstate.edu/

Appalachian Popular Programming Society (APPS)

                                                         http://campusactivities.appstate.edu/appalachian-popular-programming-society 

Performing Arts Series Calendar of Events  http://pas.appstate.edu/schedule/id/367

Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts Calendar of Events  http://theschaefercenter.org/events

Rosen Outdoor Sculpture Competition and Exhibition Calendar of Events and Deadlines   http://www.rosensculpture.org/calendar.php4

Dept. of Art Calendar of Events                         http://art.appstate.edu/events_upcoming.php

Dept. of Theatre and Dance Calendar of Events   http://theatre.appstate.edu/events_listing

Hayes School of Music Calendar of Events          http://music.appstate.edu/calendar

Visiting Writers Series                                      http://english.appstate.edu/events/series/5

University Forum Lecture Series                       http://universityforum.appstate.edu

Catherine J. Smith Gallery                               http://art.appstate.edu/cjs/

Looking Glass Gallery                                      http://lookingglassgallery.appstate.edu/

Craft Enrichment Series                                  http://craftenrichment.appstate.edu/

Todd’s Calendar (listing events around Boone) http://www.toddscalendar.com/

Turchin Center for the Visual Arts Exhibitions   http://tcva.org/exhibitions

Turchin Center for the Visual Arts Classes and Workshops  http://tcva.org/calendar

Turchin Center for the Visual Arts Classes for Appalachian Students:  http://tcva.org/calendar

Appalacjhian Summer Festival                       http://appsummer.org/